The Singapore Premier League is a league with some shirts that would interest any collector. I chanced upon the league last year after perusing Facebook on The Kitsman account. I came across Geylang International FC and decided to contact them about their up-and-coming kit release. The then general manager Andrew Ang replied and we ended up having a good chat about football and kits in general. Andrew spoke about the teams aims to be successful in the UK and around the world. After our call, Andrew sold a very limited amount of the shirts to a mystery shirt company in England and sent a couple of shirts to Kitsman HQ as well! I must say. A lovely shirt! The whole encounter got us a bit more interested in the league in general and certainly left us with a soft spot for Geylang International. So, what is the Singapore Premier League?

The Singapore Premier League is the highest level of football in Singapore and was founded in 1996. As of 2022, the league currently comprises of 8 clubs, consisting of three rounds in which each team plays every other team once. Seasons run from late March to October, with teams playing 21 matches each. The league is linked to the AFC Champions League and the AFC Cup with top sides gaining qualification. Since the league’s inception in 1996, 7 clubs have been crowned champions: Warriors FC 9 times, Tampine Rovers 5, Albirex Niigata 4, Lion City Sailors 3, our beloved Geylang International 2, DPMM FC 2 and Etoile FC 1. The current champions are Lion City Sailors, and they also lead the way again this season. The history of the league is also an interesting read.

Follow our round up of some of the shirts here: